P!nk’s “Dear Mr. President”

On my old blog I had an occasional “thing” I liked to call Music Monday where I would share a song or artist that I feel is under-appreciated. And I figure why not continue that tradition here, since everybody needs an occasional break from the typically serious topics we discuss on Thinking Critically.

I’ve been a fan of P!nk since her second album came out (although admittedly the first album does have a few really good songs as well, I just wasn’t into the image she had at the time of the first album).

However, despite some very personal lyrics on her first three albums, I did not really think of her as being a “serious” artist until I heard this song  for the first time. If I had thought about it at all, I would have said I viewed her a pop star with an edge. Sure she wasn’t Britney, but her music was not something I thought would stand the test of time. Then I heard “Dear Mr President”, and my views of her changed drastically.

She has said that this song is one of the most important songs she had written, which I believe is actually a bit of an understatement. This is actually one of the most import songs of the decade by any artist. And whether you are Liberal or Conservative, you should listen to this song and understand that one of the great things about this country is the right to speak your mind without censorship.

Dear Mr. President, Come take a walk with me.
Let’s pretend we’re just two people and
You’re not better than me.
I’d like to ask you some questions if,
We can speak honestly.

What do you feel when you see all the homeless on the street?
Who do you pray for at night before you go to sleep?
What do you feel when you look in the mirror?
Are you proud?

How do you sleep while the rest of us cry?
How do you dream when a mother has no chance to say goodbye?
How do you walk with your head held high?
Can you even look me in the eye,
And tell me why?

Dear Mr. President,
Were you a lonely boy?
Are you a lonely boy?
How can you say,
No child is left behind?
We’re not dumb and we’re not blind.
They’re all sitting in your cells,
While you pave the road to hell.

What kind of father would take his own daughter’s rights away?
And what kind of father might hate his own daughter if she were gay?
I can only imagine what the first lady has to say,
You’ve come a long way from whiskey and cocaine.

How do you sleep while the rest of us cry?
How do you dream when a mother has no chance to say goodbye?
How do you walk with your head held high?
Can you even look me in the eye?

Let me tell you ’bout hard work
Minimum wage with a baby on the way
Let me tell you ’bout hard work
Rebuilding your house after the bombs took them away
Let me tell you ’bout hard work
Building a bed out of a cardboard box
Let me tell you ’bout hard work
Hard work
Hard work
You don’t know nothing ’bout hard work
Hard work
Hard work
Oh

How do you sleep at night?
How do you walk with your head held high?
Dear Mr. President,
You’d never take a walk with me. Would you?

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Music, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to P!nk’s “Dear Mr. President”

  1. Pingback: P!nk’s “Dear Mr. President” | Rodibidably

  2. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found
    any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to
    my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  4. I really like what you guys tend to be up too.
    This type of clever work and coverage! Keep up the fantastic works guys
    I’ve added you guys to my own blogroll.

  5. Lisa says:

    I simply could not depart your web site before suggesting that I
    really enjoyed the usual information a person supply for your guests?
    Is going to be again continuously to check out new posts

  6. Thanks for finally talking about >P!nks Dear Mr.
    President | Thinking Critically <Loved it!

  7. My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at web, except I
    know I am getting experience daily by reading thes fastidious articles or reviews.

  8. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice written and include approximately all significant infos.
    I’d like to peer extra posts like this .

  9. Kourtney says:

    What’s up, yeah this piece of writing is really nice and I have learned lot of things
    from it regarding blogging. thanks.

  10. I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  11. Jenna says:

    You actually make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I to find this matter to be actually something that I think I’d by no means understand.

    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely vast for me.
    I’m taking a look forward on your next submit, I will attempt to get the hang of
    it!

  12. Fastidious answer back inn return of this difficulty with solkid arguments
    and telling the whole thing oon the topic of that.

Leave a comment